Golden Globes 2013

The Golden Globes is a night of glamour, awards, emotional speeches and probably a few glasses of champagne.

However, as my invite got lost in the post (again) I sat at home and watched the drama unfold on the many websites which offer play by play accounts.  As any fashion addicted girl, my favourite part of the night is seeing who is wearing what.  Since I can’t concentrate on my work (first day of term in the library) I’ve decided to procrastinate even further by staring at all the amazing gowns worn on the night and offer up my humble opinion on the best gowns of the night.

Cue massive fashion jealousy.

The fashion buzzword of the night was most definitely fishtail.  Amy Adams was one of the best dressed of the night in this Marchesa nude fishtail gown.  Although she didn’t win Best Supporting Actress, I’d definitely give her an award for this perfect fit.

Taylor Swift also opted for the ever popular fishtail look in this plum Donna Karan Atelier dress.  This dress is a bit of a departure for Swift, who usually keeps to reds and whites.  The sheer panel saved the look from ageing Taylor past her 23 years.  

Amanda Seyfried wore custom Givenchy (lucky lady) in keeping with this seasons all white trend.  She kept her hair au natural with tumbling curls.  

Anne Hathaway is one of my favourite actresses of all time (remember the Princess Diaries) because of her impeccable red carpet style and I just have the feeling we’d be good friends.  She was a big winner of the night for her role in Les Miserables and looked amazing while picking up her gong wearing Chanel Couture.  Every girl’s dream.  While the ever kooky, Zoey Deschanel wore an Oscar De La Renta gown with her signature bangs and a pearl necklace.  I love Zoey, as her personal style always shines through in what she’s wearing.

Miranda Kerr wowed as usual, cementing my girl crush even further.  She wore a revealing Zuhair Murad dress which showed cleavage and leg, a look that is usually considered daring, but when you’re a Victoria Secrets model, almost anything goes.  Her best accessory was of course, her handsome husband, Orlando Bloom.

All the men looked dapper as usual, however, Bradley Cooper and Eddie Redmayne both deserve special mentions.  Cooper looked as handsome as ever in his perfectly fitting Tom Ford suit while Brit boy of the moment and Les Miserables star, Eddie wore a velvet jacket with his tux.  Imagine taking either of this handsome chaps home to your mum!

My best dressed award goes to Kate Hudson who wore an incredibly sexy Alexander McQueen dress with a cut out section (nice cleavage) and a belt to accentuate her amazing curves.  Kate said she based her decision on ‘comfort’ this year and this may be why she looks so effortlessly stunning in this amazing dress.  She has definitely raised the style bar for this years upcoming Oscars.

Maybe I should swap my English and History degree for a career in acting in the vain hope that I’ll someday wear a gown (or suit) like the ones above?

JKA x

2 comments
  1. Emma said:

    I thought the standard was particularly high! And I have to agree with a lot of your choices. Usually there’s a higher percentage of questionable outfits at such big awards because so many different people attend.
    I hope you don’t mind me posting these photos, but some favourites of mine were Kaley Cuoco, Michelle Dockery and Nicole Richie



    x

  2. jkayre said:

    Oh I especially love Kaley Cuoco’s look! Thank you for reading!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

