A Guide to SS13’s Campaigns

The SS13 campaigns have been out for a couple of weeks now and inbetween work in the library and eating copious amounts of comfort food (uni does that to you sometimes) I have been able to take stock of them all.  I love flicking through magazines and getting a quick fix by staring at the amazing campaign adverts which are on display, so being able to stare at all of these campaigns while procrastinating is a treat as well.  Here are a few of my favourite SS13 photos…

Tom Ford

Tom-Ford-Spring-2013-Karlina-Caune-e1359128903342

W_SS13 CAMPAIGN[5]

Metal, metal everywhere.  

This campaign for me, is reminiscent of the bygone era of the 60’s with the model, Karlina Caune sporting Bridget Bardot coiffed hair.  It was shot by Mr. Ford himself and although the first image is visually stunning, I’m almost positive you wouldn’t get past airport security in this metal getup(knight in shining armour?).  I like the convenience of having an arm hole on your clutch as I’m forever putting mine down and losing it, however, I’m not sure that particular trend will take off.  Only time will tell.  

Saint Laurent Paris

Saint-Laurent-Spring-2013-Edie-Campbell-Hedi-Slimae-e1359129048938

1024326

Does anyone else miss the Yves off Saint Laurent?  Just me? The first shot features Edie Campbell (and Julia Nobis in other photos) and was photographed by Hedi Slimane, who was crowned creative director of the brand in 2011 and has been charged with making the name change a success.  This campaign echoes the cool California air which accompanied the brand’s SS13 show, while also being peculiarly grungey.  Perhaps more intriguing is the second picture for Saint Laurent’s menswear campaign which features androgynous female model, Saskia De Brauw.  This isn’t the first time fashion has played around with the idea of gender, Casey Legler a 6ft 2 female has recently been signed to Ford Models agency as a male and the male Andrej Pejic has walked in many womens wear shows.  

Dolce & Gabbana 

Dolce-Gabbana-SpringSummer-2013-Campaign-8-e1359131546294

I remember back in the day when Glamour magazine would always have a D&G campaign as one of their first double spread adverts every month.  I miss those days.  Alas, the diffusion line D&G is now defunct, but we still have Dolce & Gabbana and their magnificent clothes.  I love how their campaigns always feature a variety of models, from old to young, male and female.  This particular shot, photographed by Domenico Dolce, reminds me of the brand’s Italian routes as all these dark-haired beauties get together on a stunning beach.  Not sure I’d be wearing my expensive Dolce & Gabbana gown on any Great British beaches though.

Proenza Schouler 

Proenza-Schouler-Spring-2013-Julia-Nobis-photographed-by-David-Sims.

Proenza Schouler’s campaign features the model Julia Nobis (who also got the Saint Laurent gig) and was photographed by the acclaimed David Sims who has also shot the Prada Men’s, Alexander McQueen and Balmain campaigns for this season to name a few.  Busy man.  This campaign blurs the lines between art and fashion and is vibrant, abstract and to be frank, a bit trippy.  I’d love to know what the brief was.

Balmain 

15[3] 18[3]

Balmain’s SS13 campaign features the blue-eyed wonder Anna Selezneva and was shot by Karim Sadli.  The scenery makes me want to book a flight to the French Rivera ASAP for some R&R by the pool.  Dramatic black and white’s are contrasted with casual acid wash jeans (which will probably set you back a grand or so) I love the first photo where Anna looks like she’s sun worshipping, something I wish I was doing now.

Marc by Marc Jacobs

Marc-Marc-Jacobs-Spring-2013-photo-by-Juergen-Teller

Photographed by Juergen Teller, Marc Jacob’s campaign for SS13 is bright, and eye catching, all that a successful advert should be.  This shot, and the others which go with it, however, produce a bit of a wtf moment as the focus is less on the clothes and more on the graffiti-ed toilet environment.  What exactly is going on here?  Are public toilets the new ‘it’ place to be seen?  Should I start taking my reading to the toilets instead of the library?  Aside from the fact its a fashion campaign, I wouldn’t mind owning this Teller, just so I can stare at it some more.

Burberry 

Burberry_v_17Dec12_pr_b_1080x720

Romeo Beckham’s energetic modelling debut in this Burberry SS13 campaign shot is one of my favourite SS13 moments.  Unfortunately for the other 2 models Charlie France and Edie Campbell, Romeo definitely steals their limelight.  This campaign shot by the famed Mario Testino and directed by Christopher Bailey has catapulted Romeo into the view of many future cougars (including myself).  

Mulberry

MLBRY_SS13_WILLOW_NAVY_DPS MLBRY_SS13_WILLOW_WHITE_DPS

Those who know me, know my love for Mulberry and it certainly hasn’t diminished with the reveal of these aquatically themed photos.  Tim Walker creates a dreamlike atmosphere featuring model, Meghan Collison and some strategically placed Mulberry bags.  The bag featured in both of these shots, is the versatile Willow,  never again will sophisticated women have to choose between handbag and clutch, as this all-in-one features both.  Genius. My future Christmas lists will feature a cheeky request for this soon-to-be iconic bag.  Plus, I really want the suit in the first shot…mum?  You can sign up for information about the Willow’s release date on Mulberry’s website here.

Alexander McQueen

320952_495191220524325_634173381_n 553057_495190967191017_1349337628_n

Is pouring honey over myself some sort of new cult beauty regime which I should be following?  Have I been going wrong all these years?  Fear not, the brand has just taken the term ‘wasp waist’ to heart and been inspired by honey comb shapes for their SS13 collection which embraces the female form.  The sticky model, Raquel Zimmermann, gets to wear an amazing jacket in the first shot, which I will be ogling over in Selfridges/Harrods/Harvey Nichols when it comes in.

Chanel

133696-800w-1 133692-800w

Chanel’s SS13 campaign is perhaps my favourite of the lot.  It’s playful, fashionable and covetable.  Shot by Karl Lagerfeld himself, the collection is modelled by Stella Tennant, and young models Ondria Hardin (15) and Yumi Lambert (16). As much as I love the shots with Stella teaching the younger ladies how to ‘be Chanel’ my favourite photo is the top one as it is my dream bedroom.  Imagine having so much of the cult brand that you can nonchalantly fling their handbags and shoes around your room as if they’re from Primark – this thought makes me hot under the collar.  

JKA x

Leave a Reply

