Bowaters Restaurant, Marlow

One thing my dad has taught me is to appreciate good food.  Throughout the years, I’ve been his lucky dinner date and accompanied him  to countless restaurants and today’s treat was no different.

We had previously been to the Bowaters restaurant within the Compleat Angler in Marlow in my first year at University, however, as it was still Freshers Week my appreciation was slightly dulled by a very heavy hangover – sorry dad!

However, this year with a clear head my father and I headed to Marlow for a traditional lunch at the Bowaters.  Overlooking the currently overflowing river and it’s weir, the hotel is in prime position in the picturesque village, making some pre-meal exploring a must. 

WARNING: Look away now if you’re hungry!

When we returned, we were quickly seated at our table and presented the menu, I literally could have eaten everything on it!  Although the menu caters more towards meat lovers, the vegetarian options were also very tempting!

For a starter I went with the chicken and ham hock terrine with black pudding (the Geordie in me loves black pudding) with a watercress and raisin salad and was given a piece of fresh and still warm olive bread to accompany which was incredible, while my dad opted for the oak smoked salmon starter with apple and beetroot and a horseradish panna cotta – an element which really intrigued us on the menu but tasted great!  The dishes were both received with sighs of delight and eaten in record time!  Always a good sign!

Image

Image

The main course was the big event.  My dad and I both ordered the roast fillet of 21 day aged Scottish beef with curly kale, root vegetable gratin and warm horseradish cream and its safe to say we were not disappointed!  I could have gone for a round 2 on this dish, as it was without a doubt the best steak I’ve ever had!

Image

If you’re like me and you’re trying to think of places to go for your Graduation lunch, then I’d definitely recommend the Bowaters at the Compleat Angler, you will come away full to the brim and satisfied that you’ve just eaten the best steak ever! 

Booking information is here!  Enjoy!

JKA x

Leave a Reply

