The Lake District

After spending a few days in Ibiza post-Graduation, I headed to my boyfriend’s house for a bit of Northern hospitality.

After reluctantly watching the Ashes for a day – believe me, this wasn’t my choice – I managed to convince Ross to swap the sofa for the hills and head to the nearby Lake District for a bit of exercise and fresh air.

I switched my sandy flip flops for hiking boots and cocktail for a bottle of water before we headed towards the picturesque village of Coniston just West of Windermere.  We set our sights for a lake up the Old Man of Coniston, a mountain which on arrival seemed to be a optimistic target for the hottest day of the year when I was still experiencing a post-Ibiza lull.

IMG_3209

IMG_3210

IMG_3213

IMG_3217

But after only an hour and a half of walking where we made a few friends along the way, we reached a beautiful crystal lake with only a couple of other (more seasoned) hikers as company.  We set up camp and ate our picnic of sandwiches (or butty’s as Ross would say) and took in the spectacular view.

IMG_3237

Ross tried to teach me to skip stones…it didn’t work…but he enjoyed it anyway.

IMG_3248

The views on the walk back were equally as breathtaking and cemented in my mind that I need to make a repeat visit to stay in one of the many B&B’s in the area so we can enjoy more of the lakes.

IMG_3261

If you’re looking to visit then check out the Lake’s tourism website here and make sure to pack your walking boots!

TWITTERLINK1 tumblrlink1 bloglovin1 instagram

Leave a Reply

