Being A Tourist: Paris, Day One

After spending a week interning at LOOK magazine in London, my mum and I headed to Paris to be complete and utter tourists in the City of Romance.  In a confession which may lose me some street cred – did I have any anyway? – I treasure the time I get to spend with my mum, so I jumped at the chance of having her for a few days all to myself.  For years, my mum and I had planned city breaks which we would spend indulging in rich foods and soaking in even richer culture and it’s only now that we’ve actually got round to executing one of these highly anticipated trips!  We chose Paris as the location for our first annual ‘mother-daughter jaunt’ (yes, I’m hoping to make that a thing) as mum had only visited the city years ago on a work trip with my dad, while I had only vague notions of going to DisneyLand when I was much younger and although neither of us know a lick of French – my knowledge stretches to ‘ou set le piscine?’ a phrase I didn’t use once on our trip – we were both eager to return to the French capital.  

On Saturday morning we headed to St Pancreas and spent a quick 2 hours on the EuroStar before emerging with tired eyes on the other side of the Channel in Paris!  We were staying in the Hotel Pont Royal which is located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés and just a 5 minute walk away from the iconic Musee de Louvre and a short 2 minute walk to Rue de Bac Metro station on line 12, a spot which was absolutely perfect for all our tourist needs and provided more than a few surprises (more on that later…) 

After settling in at the hotel, we hopped on the Metro to Montmartre and made our way past local markets selling paintings and nic nacs towards a set of stairs which would take us to Sacre Coeur.  After a tiring day lugging around heavy suitcases, we climbed breathlessly – only to find that there was in fact a lift which could have taken us the whole way for a small price – toward the summit.

SAM_0118

SAM_0120

IMG_3506

IMG_3507

IMG_3508

SAM_0129

Dress – Zara / Necklace – Primark / Sunglasses – Ray Ban / Bag – Mulberry

IMG_3510

IMG_3515

Sacre Coeur itself is architecturally stunning but the view outside it is breathtaking.  With the sun low in the sky, my mum and I took in the almost panoramic view of Paris while planning the days ahead and marvelling at a talented street performer who was balanced precariously in front of a gawping crowd.

After taking in the view and admitting to each other that we were feeling rather peckish we returned to the Metro and headed back towards our hotel.  We stopped off at Le Saint German to share a plate of delicious antipasto smothered in pesto before hitting the hay, ready for a packed day of cliche activities in the morning!

TWITTERLINK1 tumblrlink1 bloglovin1 instagram

4 comments
  1. Tracey.Johnson said:

    Lovely x

  2. Tessa said:

    It sounds like a great start of your trip, love the view!

    • jkayre said:

      It was lovely! I will get round to posting the rest! Just on holiday at the moment! Thanks for reading 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

