John Mayer

I have an iTunes library which is full of the bric-a-brac of the musical world but within my vast collection there are a few gems which provide me with 3 minutes of musically induced euphoria.  For me, music is the best form of therapy and when I find a song whose lyrics articulate what I’m feeling better than I ever could myself, it’ll stay on a constant repeat until I feel ready to face the light of day again.  

Throughout the years of teenage trials and tribulations, university induced breakdowns and bouts of homesickness there has always been one artist whose music has been my go to therapeutic soundtrack.  John Mayer’s music has accompanied me everything and I particularly associate his dulcet tones with my travels back in 2010.  In my gap year I travelled both Borneo and America and although my location would regularly change from week to week, John’s music was on constant play throughout.  

On Sunday night, after years of hoping, I got to see John play at the O2 arena in London.  Fittingly, I was accompanied by three girls who I have shared some of my many travels with and although we didn’t have the best seats, it was one of the best nights.

John’s arrival on stage prompted an uncontrollable squeal from myself and the surrounding crowd, with one over enthusiastic lady letting out a groan of sheer of delight behind me.  Ooo-errr.  I had been worried that his set would be predominately material from his sixth album, Paradise Valley but every single album in his repertoire was visited meaning that his old classics, Slow Dancing in a Burning Room and Gravity had their fair share of air time alongside newer songs like Paper Doll and Something Like Olivia.  Although I had hoped that he would play Stop This Train – perhaps my favourite song of all time – his cover of Tom Petty’s Free Fallin’ was an even trade off and made me feel a bit weak at the knees.

Mayer’s voice is even better live and although he does make some quite questionable faces while playing guitar, no one can deny that the man would school the vast majority of us at Guitar Hero.  He even played one behind his back.  Yes, thats right, he played a guitar backwards!  For me, an added special touch was the graphics which played behind John for his whole set.  Throughout every song, pictures of Monument Valley transformed behind the band and if you know me, you’ll know that the Valley was one of my favourite places I visited back in 2010.  Perfect. 

If you ever have the chance to see John Mayer live then go for it!  You won’t regret it!

TWITTERLINK1 tumblrlink1 bloglovin1 instagram

6 comments
  1. Carl said:

    Hey sounds like Mr Mayer didn’t disappoint! I’m also a massive fan (although admittedly more of the blues stuff rather than the more recent stuff), and saw him in 2010 on the Battle Studies tour. Glad you had a great time. 🙂

    • jkayre said:

      He’s so incredible live isn’t he! Battle Studies is the album I listened to most while I was travelling so that and Continuum have to be my favourites! Thanks for reading! 🙂 x

  2. Alyssa said:

    Hi there, found your blog as a suggestion on the sidebar from WordPress 🙂 I saw John Mayer on this tour last month when he was here in the US (California), and was so blown away! I too have had his albums as a soundtrack to my teen years into my twenties and this was my first time seeing him live. I think with nearly each song I proclaimed to my boyfriend, “Oh I love this one!!”. And I agree – his stage backdrop with the changing seasons added a wonderful element to the show. Already looking forward to his next one!

    • jkayre said:

      Ah I’m glad you enjoyed him too! I wish I could go back and see him again, he was absolutely amazing! xxx

  3. truly said…his voice has some magical touch which touches me the most…heartbreak warfare is my favourite song..can feel the pain in his voice,a true gem!

    • jkayre said:

      Heartbreak Warfare is an amazing song! You’re right he is a true gem 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

