The Mini

The saying ‘good things come in small packages’ has never been so appropriate than right now!

Balenciaga, Celine and Proenza Schouler have all miniaturised some of their most popular designs begging the question to whether big really is better? 

As a lover of bags and with my birthday around the corner, I set out researching which sartorial accessory I’d be adding to my growing collection.

After some serious research, the nano on my wishlist was the the Phillip Lim mini Pashli in classic black.  As there is nowhere in Guernsey that you can buy Phillip Lim bags (step your game up Guernsey retail) I spent evenings Googling pictures of people wearing them – sad, I know –  to check the proportions.  Although most websites now provide pictures of models wearing the bags on offer It’s always helpful to Google a few bloggers and see how it hangs on them and what they have to say about it, as you don’t want something to turn up which you thought would work as a weekend bag when really it’s the size of a coin purse!

After arriving home on to Guernsey on Friday to a Monniere Freres box on my bed, I was I admit, a little bit giddy and opened my parcel pre-birthday bash on Sunday.  Naughty but oh so necessary.  

P1000605

Zips down, you saucy minx!

P1000606

‘Pashli’ is Russian for ‘let’s go’, a term which perhaps stems from the popular bag’s origins in the humble motorcycle bag and only serves to endear me to the design more.

While the medium version of the pashli can hold a 13-inch Macbook amongst other things (old receipts, numbers on forgotten pieces of paper, pens without lids and a diary which hasn’t been updated since your last organisational breakdown) while it’s mini sibling is just the right size for your daily necessities minus the useless bric-a-brac.  I’ve already used my Pashli several times over the weekend and love how my camera fits in perfectly alongside everything else.

I’m looking forward to slinging my new love over my shoulder as a cross body bag, zips down when I go to New York at the end of May.  Yes, I am already planning outfits. 

Have you got a mini bag on your wishlist?  Have you got any ideas of what I should do when I visit the Big Apple?  More importantly, any restaurant recommendations?  

bloglovin1 instagram TWITTERLINK11 TWITTERLINK1

 

2 comments
  1. Emma said:

    I’m a big fan of mini versions of things! I know nothing about handbags, but I like this one haha

    • jkayre said:

      haha, what mini versions of things do you like? Like travel shampoos? xx

Leave a Reply

