Peace & Loaf, Jesmond

I have been waiting to visit Peace & Loaf ever since I arrived in Jesmond.

In one of my first weeks at Newcastle Uni I was sent off to interview, Dave Coulson, the restaurants head chef for JesmondLocal.  Coulson is not only a lovely man and a great first interview but was a finalist in Masterchef in 2010 meaning he has a pretty extensive and impressive foodie CV.  Since that interview, I’ve been itching to go and has since spent the last few months begrudgingly walking past the doors of P&L as I head to the gym.  A few times I’ve been tempted to run in for a secret meal on my own.   Who wouldn’t rather swap a sweaty gym session for a feast of mammoth and epic proportions?  Screw the bikini body.  

Finally, after months of waiting patiently (read: months of nagging) this weekend my dad conceded and we headed over to Jesmond Road for a little taste of heaven.

P1010107 P1010109 P1010113

Canapes galore!

Coulson is a bit of a maverick.  The menu at P&L is a bit of a mix between classic dishes deconstructed or with a bit of a twist.  It’s exciting, it’s certainly different and he does it bloody well. His signature dish on Masterchef was a deconstructed chicken pie which my dad and I were lucky enough to have the  opportunity to try in the form of a pre-meal canapé.  I would have definitely ordered this if it was on the menu (which changes regularly) so heres hoping that next time I visited, it is!

After umming and ahhing about what I was going to have I eventually chose the Scallop, Pea and Pie from the normal dinner menu and then the Pressed Pork Belly, Pork Rillette, Creamy Mash and Apple for my main from the Prix Fixe just to be awkward!

What strikes you first when you’re dish arrives is the arrangement.  The placement of every component has been thought out and it creates a bed of organised chaos where each ingredient gets its fair share of air time.

The meaty scallops were served with a generous amount of pea puree (don’t you just hate it when there isn’t enough puree – #FirstWorldProblems) while the pie was a little revelation in itself.  Beautifully soft pastry with just enough bite with a (presumably) sausage filling which complemented the scallop without overriding its flavour.  Ooo-errr.

P1010114My dad went for the Lamb Breast, Broccoli, Wild Leaks, Wensleydale and Black Olives.  Minus the Wensleydale.  The man doesn’t like cheese!  Yes, cheese!

The Holy Grail of all foods.  Madness, I tell you.  

P1010116
P1010119

Our meal – rather unexpectedly – came with an amuse bouche of beetroot and granola.  Now, I’m just going to say it straight, I wasn’t a fan of this, but this is most likely because I am a fan of neither of its components so I really can’t be a reliable judge.  You’ll just have to let me know what you think instead!

P1010120

Next came the piggy main…

My pork was succulent, not dry at all and the pork belly had perfectly cooked crackling on top which wasn’t too thick or tough!  I’ve really got into mash at the minute and I’ve got into the habit of buying those microwave tubs that you can get from supermarkets with cheese on top, but of course this was a cut above those and was perfectly creamy.  My dad went for the slightly healthier option of Salmon with sea vegetables.  This is meant to come with garlic risotto but as my dad isn’t a fan of garlic (I KNOW!) he swapped the stodge for a side of broccoli.

P1010122

While I wasn’t planning to get dessert, I can never quite say no to the offer of the dessert menu and since we were celebrating…well actually we weren’t celebrating anything but why not!  

I actually rather belatedly taught my dad the premise of ‘YOLO’ during the dinner, so perhaps this dessert can be put down to a Drake inspired yolo outburst in the form of massive calorie consumption. I’ll just blame Drake when my jeans don’t fit then, yeah?  Not my fault at all…

P1010125

Behold, Newcastle’s most luxurious brownie!  Admired the world over! 

P1010127

Peace & Loaf was great!  A relaxed atmosphere, aesthetically pleasing dishes and fantastic food with a bit of a twist at great value.  Coulson has definitely gained a fan and a foodie follower in me!

Maybe one day I will make a detour to P&L while I’m on my way to the gym, YOLO afterall…

TWITTERLINK11 TWITTERLINK1 instagram bloglovin1

 

Leave a Reply

