D&W: An Ode to Bread

Back in September – YES, SEPTEMBER, I am that disorganised – my brother and his girlfriend hopped across the pond to London.  While I like to pretend they came purely to see me, it was more of a family affair with the whole Ayre clan meeting in the capital to indulge.  When Rob asked where did a good brunch in London, my answer could be no other than the mighty Duck & Waffle.

While I reverted to being a creature of habit and ordered the restaurant’s eponymous hero of a dish, my company shared some mini plates including the roasted octopus with chorizo, some breaded prawns, a mozzarella special (not pictured) and some incredible breads.  While I like to kid myself that one day I’ll give up bread and take part in some crazy vegan, gluten-free, 5:2 diet, its because of breads like this that I never will.  We ordered two little puffs of doughy heaven; the artichoke and parmesan and gruyere and n’duja.

Bread is such a social food to me; conversation bubbles while you tear off a piece, lather on the butter and dip it in olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  If a bread basket was presented to me now, I’d bury my face in it and emerge covered in crumbs.  An attractive thought (call me boys, you know you want to).  

Anyway, since my trip to Duck & Waffle TWO MONTHS AGO, I have completed a months work experience at InStyle magazine which got off to a slow start but ended up being lots of fun!  Aside from writing and getting stuck into the daily happenings of a magazine office, I attended press events and even got to see Ed Sheeran in a private box with New Look. You’re allowed to be jealous.

Right now, I’m interning at SUITCASE Magazine, a small independent travel and fashion Bible which comes out quarterly.  The whole team at SUITCASE are amazing and the editor, Serena is definitely a force to be reckoned with.  Don’t just take my word for it, she won a Woman of the Year award recently which definitely trumps my Blue Peter badge!  If you haven’t heard of SUITCASE Magazine before, then head to their website http://www.suitcasemag.com or pick up a copy to inject some serious wanderlust into your life.  At the end of this month, I’m off to sit on the features desk of ELLE Magazine which I cannot wait for!

P1020146

P1020147

 

Dem tiles

P1020153

P1020154

P1020155

P1020156

P1020157

P1020158

P1020159 P1020160

2 comments
  1. I was in London at the weekend and so wanted to go to Duck and Waffle but we weren’t organised enough to book a table and the hour long wait would have meant I’d miss my train home …. next time though! The views and food look amazing!

    Chloe x
    newgirlintoon.co.uk

    • jkayre said:

      You’ll definitely have to go next time you’re down! Just try to book ahead and make sure you order the Duck! xxxxx

Leave a Reply

